Food · Homemaking · Kitchen · nutritarian

Black Beans & Rice

Photo of pink bowl and black beans and rice
Photo by Prairie Girl, All rights reserved
Doesn’t that look divine?
It doesn’t just look wonderful, it tasted wonderful.
And I managed to make this new recipe…
by completely botching up a different recipe that I was intending on making.
Because I try to rotate and use some of our food storage foods when cooking, I chose to use those ingredients where applicable, but you can substitute with fresh if you choose. I’ve put the options in brackets to make it more flexible.

Nutritarian Black Beans & Rice

  • 16 oz dry black beans
  • 2 tbsp water or oil (I prefer to use water)
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped (or 1/2 cup dried onions, reconstituted)
  • 1 stick celery, chopped (or 1/2 cup dried celery, reconstituted)
  • 2 med carrots, chopped (or 2/3 cup dried carrots, reconstituted)
  • 1 whole bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped green chilies (or 2/3 cup dried chilies, reconstituted)
  • 1 cup drained, diced tomatoes (or 2 med fresh tomatoes)
  • 3 1/2 cups chicken stock or water, to almost cover beans
  • 1 tsp salt (optional)
  • 2 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 3 tsp hot sauce (I like to use Frank’s Red Hot)
  • 1 1/4 cups uncooked brown rice (or 3 cups cooked)
Soak beans overnight, then rinse. Put in a pot with 3 times as much water. Bring to a boil, and cook 45 mins – 1 hour. Drain and rinse.
Saute onion with a small amount of water (you could use oil but I opt not to). Add celery, carrots, and bell pepper. Turn to low. (If using dry ingredients, they don’t need to be sauteed since they are already soft). Add chilies and tomatoes. Add stock and seasonings, and rice. Cook until rice is as you like it. Add beans, and mix. Let sit until hot throughout. Serve.

This makes a very large pot, I had lots to put in the freezer and 2 days worth for eating.

itsaprairiefulllife.wordpress.com
This Post is Linked At:

10 thoughts on “Black Beans & Rice

  1. Great recipe! We eat a lot of rice and beans here. I was actually thinking about making rice and beans today, so I might have to see if I have all the ingredients 🙂 We don't have much in the way of dried food, most of mine is home canned or frozen, but this is a great recipe for using up dried foods!

    Like

Leave a comment