Food · Kitchen · nutritarian

A Simple Stirfry

Here is my lunch from today.

Easy Nutritarian Vegan and Vegetarian Stirfry
Simple Vegan Stirfry. Credit: Prairie Girl, All rights reserved.

Quite something, isn’t it? I often make a nutritarian stirfry when I peek into my fridge and see a whole lot of veggies that would look great in a wok.

My recipe is ridiculously basic.

  1. Cut up various veggies (I used mushrooms, celery, carrot, cauliflower, broccoli, onions, green pepper) into stirfry-ish chunks.
  2. Heat wok with a bit of water in it up on med-high.
  3. Toss in veggies, and stir frequently, adding a bit more water when it starts to get dry. You want just enough water that you can sauté with it… Not so much that you are simmering the food in it.
  4. I add a splash or two of Bragg’s Liquid Soy Aminos, just for a bit of flavour.
  5. Add the protein: Sometimes I add in some gluten pieces… In this case, Mun Chai Ya braised gluten. This product as is is not nutritarian, although vegan, but it’s canned in lots of oil and salt. I dump the can into a colander and rinse with water well, then squeeze and add to wok. I never never claimed to be a purist! A purist would of course just leave this out. Other times I’ll add in tofu, or just leave it veggie-ridiculous.
  6. I stirfry it until my broccoli is just tender enough to pierce gently but not yet soft and squishy. That’s my gauge for all the veggies.
  7. And then I eat it. I don’t put it on top of a starch or anything… It’s a full good meal on its own. If I’m feeling particularly spicy that day, I’ll splash some Frank’s Red Hot sauce on.

Good, healthy, and easy.

Do you have stir fry variations? What sorts of stuff do you add into yours?

itsaprairiefulllife.wordpress.com

This Post is Linked At:

Saturday Sparks Show & Share Tuesday The Gathering Spot

 

Leave a Reply

