Children · Crafts

Making Rainbow Rice

Multicolored rice in a plastic tub arranged by separate colors
Photo by Prairie Girl, All rights reserved

Thank you to Pinterest for doing alot of my creative thinking for me lately. I loved the idea of a sensory tub for my girls. I happened to have a nice large tub just perfect and waiting for our Rainbow rice.

Super easy, too.

  1. Put 2-3 cups white rice in a large ziplock bag.
  2. In a small cup, put about 2 tbsp rubbing alcohol, vodka, or something with a high alcohol content. Since we don’t drink and I was all out of rubbing alcohol, I used vanilla extract. The fringe benefit of this was that my rice smelled awesome after.
  3. To the cup, add a few drops of your chosen food coloring.
  4. Stir, then dump this in your rice bag, zip it up, and shake, shake, shake. If the color isn’t enough, just add a bit more color mixture. This isn’t rocket science, so just fiddle until you like the color of your rice. Once it’s colored, spread out so the alcohol can evaporate and the rice can dry.
Multicolored rice in a plastic tub arranged by separate colors
Photo by Prairie Girl, All rights reserved

Repeat to make as many colors as you want. Make sure to take a picture like I did, because I can guarantee you that it won’t look so pretty 30 seconds after your child sees it. My daughter had such a blast playing in this with her farm animals, spoons, cups, dolls. And after a few days, once it lost its novelty, I poured the rice into ziplock bags and will bring it out on one of those rainy days. Fabulous idea!

Find this and a bunch of other great ideas on my Pinterest board.

itsaprairiefulllife.wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

